Review: Coca Cola’s marketing campaign

So there I was, walking into Duane Reade, when I saw the Coke bottles.

That’s how all good stories begin, right?

I wasn’t sure why there were names on them – and then I put 2 and 2 together. There were rows and rows of Coke bottles in the store, and each bottle had a different name on it.

photo (1)

The initiative is a marketing campaign to elevate Coke’s brand and position it as a global leader in happiness. Go to Twitter and search #ShareACoke.

The campaign is f—ing BRILLIANT. Because when I saw the names on those bottles, and then realized MY name could be on one, I started pawing through all the bottles trying to find my name. I couldn’t find it, but think about it. If people can find their own names on Coke bottles, that means the bottles were custom made for them.

With love,

from Coke.

And if something is custom made especially for you, and it’s sitting on a shelf in a grocery store, you don’t just leave it sitting there. You walk it up to the cash register and you buy it. Because it was made for you. And maybe you even continue returning to your local grocery store to buy those drinks that were made especially for you. It makes you feel loved; like a huge conglomerate brand is looking out for you. Yes, you.

Sharing is caring

Plus, Coke wants you to share. We learned how to do that in kindergarten, right? And because Coke shares itself with everyone, including underprivileged folks in far flung countries, they’re doing a good thing. And we like to support good things. This campaign perfectly aligns itself with Coke’s mission to spread happiness everywhere. (Watch this video on the happiness machine.) Each personalized bottle instructs me to share. I’m not supposed to buy the bottle for myself; I’m ideally supposed to buy it for a friend. Not only am I doing a nice thing by buying my friend a personalized Coke, but I’m helping the world by doing good things and spreading the love. This is beyond Coke. It’s about me. It’s about my friends. It’s about the world.

Not only do these bottles call your name and beckon to you in Duane Reade, they promote a positive social movement amongst the bloody headlines and weary citizens of the globe.

Props, Coke. Absolutely genius.

4 thoughts on “Review: Coca Cola’s marketing campaign

  1. Aviva says:

    I agree- really genius! I loved it when they did this in Israel and had hebrew names on the bottles. Wouldn’t that be awesome if they had that in manhattan?

Leave a Reply

