I’ll make a brand new start of it…New York, New York

Hello dear blog followers!

LaunchSquadI know I haven’t updated in a little while, so I thought I would share some updates on my life. So, I just finished the last of my finals today. The last final EVER! I will never, ever have to study again for a test in my life. And that’s pretty awesome.

I’ll be graduating this Friday from the University of Maryland with a degree in communication and a concentration in public relations. Next Sunday, I’m headed off to New York City to start as an account associate at LaunchSquad, a tech PR agency. They’re an up and coming firm and work with many different tech startups to help create buzz and to “disrupt”. And I’m THRILLED about it! They seem like a great agency to work with, and everyone seems to genuinely enjoy working there.

Here’s some of what I’ll be doing:

Associates work on three to four client accounts and learn from LaunchSquad’s senior staff who teach and train Associates through day-to-day execution of client work. From the start, Associates work closely with clients on a daily basis and contribute to PR programs in significant ways, including media and analyst relations, research, writing, managing speaking and awards programs, and tracking and reporting client results for teams. 

Over the course of year one at LaunchSquad, an Associate can expect the following from the experience:

  • Position with increasing responsibilities and learning opportunities;
  • Growth opportunities within each team role, including transitions and shifts in responsibilities;
  • Regular performance acknowledgement, feedback and merit increases for outstanding work;
  • Ability to develop skills and knowledge that will accelerate career advancement and future professional growth opportunities.

I’ll update in a few more days with graduation pictures. Stay tuned! And follow me on Twitter at @abigailjaffe to stay updated on my adventures in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

