Why I’m Excited for School

When I was younger, I thought there would be nothing better than a summer which infringed upon long stretches of the school year, in both the beginning and the end. The summer always seemed to slip by so quickly, and I remember many a year in which the summer’s fading rays of twilight delivered another dreaded academic year. This summer was the longest I’ve ever had, and naturally I was thrilled for 3 1/2 months of vacation: over a quarter of a year!

Yet this time I’m excited to go back. In talking to a friend recently, I noted this point, along with the fact that there is something inherently intriguing in anonymously walking in stride with an enormous crowd on campus. One of my favorite things to do on campus is simply people-watching. I get a tremendous kick out of the various people that are rushing by, each enrolled in the same institution, and yet all remain anonymous. Last semester I had a class that was a 20-25 minute walk away, and what passed the time for me was viewing the hordes of people all rushing by, mostly headed to class, some still in pajamas and others dressed to the T, with makeup and heels and curled hair. Sometimes, when it rains, many people walk around barefoot or with just flip flops, even in February!

Whatever the day, weather, or occasion, people-watching on a college campus won’t be disappointing. 

Leave a Reply

