How I Met My Match

I’ve been accused of being an overachiever, and I get death stares in the event that I dare complain about getting a B. I admit it.

During my freshman year and first spring semester at UMD I decided that I wanted to be a junior in the fall, mostly for ranking privileges that are awarded to upperclassmen and which will be extremely helpful to me and almost necessary. I had completed 47 credits (13 of which came from APs), which left 13 to go, and with this in mind I signed up for summer classes.

I met my match.

13 credits and an internship later, I can honestly say that this is one of the first times that I regret being a workaholic. Throughout the summer I was incredibly stressed out, working and trying to do well in my classes, which I took online with Montgomery College because I figured community college would be easier for me since I was taking a large course load. It wasn’t. They were less stimulating, but the sheer amount of work and reading required was absurd, because the professors chose to let us teach the material to ourselves instead of recording lectures. In 5 weeks, I had six papers due, along with the requisite discussion board posts and reading. It left me absolutely no free time, and one night a few weeks ago I stayed up until 1:30 am and woke up at 6:30, because there were simply not enough hours in the day to get everything done. I was more overwhelmed this summer than I was during the school year, which I find rather ironic. And then the bombshell dropped.

I found out that UMD doesn’t list transfer credits on transcripts, nor do transfer grades factor into one’s GPA. Well that was a surprise, considering I only had a week left of classes. I’m pretty sure I earned a B in one of them, but hey, it’s not transferring anyway. Don’t bite me.

The moral of the story here, folks, is that next summer, I plan on taking it easy. Sometimes, jumping on the fast track to nowhere just isn’t worth it. 

Leave a Reply

